One last trip to the beach together.

We snuck in one last trip to the beach because tomorrow at 8:30am, summer is officially over. Summer is always my favorite time of year and this summer was no exception – full of camps, camping, beach trips and treasures, friends, BBQ’s, swimming and the simple joy and beauty of long days and warm nights. My only complaint is the same one I have every year – summer is always too damn short.

Some of my best childhood memories are from my summer vacations – hanging out with friends, water-skiing with my Dad, playing cards, reading books, my grandparent’s long-awaited annual visit, non-stop swimming, going to amusement parks, staying up late, playing outside until the streetlights came on and so much more.

I did my best to make the most of the summer with my son – I put everything on hold that I could (and my uncharacteristically dirty house, mountains of non-critical laundry and piles of papers are proof) because I’m painfully aware that there are a finite number of childhood summers – especially ones that we get to spend together. (I am definitely not one of those moms that can’t wait for their kids to go back to school. Tomorrow is the hardest day of the year for me; I’m not looking forward to it at all.)

There are so many good things that I wish for my son, and one of those things are wonderful summer’s for him to enjoy and look back on. If I do my job right, he’ll be telling his grand-kids about his summer vacations for years, just like I tell him about mine.

And how about you? What are your favorite summer memories?

