Tags

,

j: I found this picture on the camera while I was watching coverage of Hurricane Irene and worrying about all my friends that live in her path. I was pretty nervous, doing busy work, resisting the temptation to text “Are you okay now?” every few minutes. Born and raised in the Bay Area, I have no experience with terrifying weather; seems like the scariness of earthquakes times about a million.

As soon as I saw this picture (which Chad took, not me), I felt inexplicably reassured, like everyone would be okay. My reaction made me curious, so I looked up the mythology and found out that the “ladybug showing up in one’s life foretells a time of luck and protection.”

Perfect.

It’s Sunday afternoon as I write this, and everyone seems to be okay. There are less magical explanations for that of course. The Weather Channel has been full of the science of hurricanes and tropical storms, and how one can change into the other, and how it doesn’t take a miracle to dodge a bullet. It’s fascinating. I’m totally into the science of it all, even as I feel a little mushy with new-found ladybug love.

jb: This fountain has the power to stop time for me. I am so grateful.

